An announcement from VTAEYC\’s Board of Directors

As President of the Board of Directors of Vermont Association for the Education of Young Children, and on behalf of the Board of Directors, I am pleased to announce that Janet McLaughlin has accepted the newly created full-time Executive Director position of Vermont Association for the Education of Young Children.

Janet brings to this work a deep commitment and passion for early childhood education, as both a parent and senior leader at Let’s Grow Kids; and extensive experience in fund development, social services, and nonprofit leadership. We are confident that she has the knowledge and skills to help lead VTAEYC to deeper levels of engagement with the field and greater impact on the early childhood education system in our state.

“Early childhood educators are skilled, creative and resourceful” stated Ms. McLaughlin. “I look forward to working with them in this new role to build on the strong foundation that VTAEYC and its partners have laid and create an early childhood education system that works for Vermont\’s children, families, and educators.”

This three-month search process was thoughtfully overseen by the Executive Committee, who empowered an interview team comprised of three VTAEYC Board members and three members of the early childhood community who each brought a different and unique perspective to the process. We are working diligently to ensure a smooth, effective transition process.

The VTAEYC Board wants to acknowledge and thank Sonja Raymond for her untiring work in recent years, work that positioned VTAEYC to take on a new level of leadership for early childhood education in Vermont. The work that goes forward from this today would not be possible without her extraordinary commitment to our field and membership.

In the coming weeks and months, we will be sharing more about both short and long-term efforts to strengthen membership, engage new partners, and help build a stronger Early Childhood Education system. Today, we pause to give thanks for the remarkable ECE professionals and leaders who are building a better future for Vermonters.

If you have questions or feedback, we would be happy to hear from you. The best way to contact us is through Sharron Harrington at or Johanna Vaczy at Janet can be contacted at beginning April 1st.



VTAEYC Board of Directors

Sharron Harrington, President

Johanna Vaczy, Past President