It’s time to nominate your outstanding early childhood educator for Vermont’s Early Educator of the Year Award!

Vermont’s dedicated and skilled early childhood educators rose to the challenge during COVID-19 and applied their training and expertise to play an essential role in the lives of Vermont’s children, families, and communities. 

To celebrate their work, the Vermont Association for the Education of Young Children (VTAEYC) and Let’s Grow Kids (LGK) are seeking nominations for Vermont’s 2021 Early Childhood Educator of the Year.  We’re looking for early childhood educators who demonstrate excellence in their field, create inclusive learning communities, have a commitment to professional standards and growth, and serve as a resource for the families they serve. 

Please nominate a star early childhood educator who: 

1) works within a regulated center, school-, or home-based early childhood education program, 

2) cares for and teaches children within the birth to eight age-range, and 

3) has been an early childhood educator for 3 or more years.


Click here to make your nomination.


Nominations are due by midnight on June 6, 2021. Nominees will be notified in July and asked to submit an application with additional information. The decision will be made by a committee of Vermonters committed to high-quality early childhood education. The award will be announced at the VTAEYC conference in October 2021.  The winner will receive a cash prize of $2500, expenses paid for a national early childhood education conference, and professional photoshoot.

The review committee will look for early childhood educators with the following characteristics:

  • Commitment to professional, quality early childhood education programming, such as NAEYC standards for early childhood education programs.
  • Commitment to creating an inclusive community that meets the needs of families and children with a variety of backgrounds.
  • Leadership within the early childhood education field.
  • Application of their training and education in early childhood education and a commitment to continuing education, coursework, or training.
  • Willingness to serve as a resource for families served by the early childhood education program.

*Note: Individuals can nominate up to 2 people. Employees of LGK and VTAEYC, as well as previous winners, are ineligible for the award.

Click here to learn more about the Early Childhood Educator of the Year award, including interviews with previous years’ winners.